ECB logo


There are two series of banknotes. The first series comprises seven different denominations: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500. The second series, or Europa series, consists of six denominations and was completed with the issuance of the €100 and €200 on 28 May 2019. The €500 banknote was not included in the Europa series and as of 27 April 2019 is no longer being issued. The first series of notes, originally issued in 2002, is gradually being replaced by the Europa series. All the notes are legal tender throughout the euro area.

Key dates
28 May 2019
Introduction of the new €100 and €200
17 September 2018
Unveiling of the Europa series €100 and €200 banknotes
4 April 2017

Introduction of the new €50

5 July 2016

Unveiling of the Europa series €50 banknote

25 November 2015
Introduction of the new €20
24 February 2015
Unveiling of the Europa series €20 banknote
1 January 2015
Adoption of the euro by Lithuania
23 September 2014
Introduction of the new €10
13 January 2014
Unveiling of the Europa series €10 banknote
1 January 2014
Adoption of the euro by Latvia
2 May 2013
Introduction of the new €5
10 January 2013
Unveiling of the Europa series €5 banknote
8 November 2012
ECB announces introduction of a second series of euro banknotes, named the Europa series
1 January 2011
Adoption of the euro by Estonia
1 January 2009
Adoption of the euro by Slovakia
1 January 2008
Adoption of the euro by Cyprus and Malta
1 January 2007
Adoption of the euro by Slovenia
1 January 2002
Introduction of euro banknotes and coins in 12 EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain
€500 banknotes are no longer issued

On 27 January 2019, 17 of the 19 national central banks in the euro area stopped issuing €500 banknotes. In order to ensure a smooth transition and for logistical reasons, the Deutsche Bundesbank and the Oesterreichische Nationalbank stopped issuing the notes on 27 April 2019.

Existing €500 banknotes continue to be legal tender, so you can still use them as a means of payment and store of value (i.e. spend and save them). Similarly, banks, bureaux de change and other commercial parties can keep recirculating the existing €500 notes.

Like all denominations of euro banknotes, the €500 note will always retain its value and can be exchanged at a national central bank of the euro area at any time.

北京pk赛车10官网 一分钟赛车开奖结果 广西快乐10分助手 皇冠篮球比分网 福建36选7走势图 体彩广西11选5结果 华东15选5开奖查询 广东十一选五的开奖 北京十一选五最新开 26选5中奖号码 老快3开奖结果江苏老 3d字谜图谜总汇牛 005期26选5开奖结果 股票配资平台排名 大发pk10被骗过程 老快3跨度走势 湖北30选5开奖今天的