ECB logo

Exchanging national cash

Former national banknotes and coins, such as Deutsche Mark or Spanish pesetas, can in most cases still be exchanged for euro. This is done only by the national central banks. The ECB does not exchange any banknotes or coins.

To see which banknotes can be exchanged for euro, click on a country on the left-hand side of the screen and consult the time limits given in the table below. Several national central banks still exchange even older banknote series than those depicted.

Time limits

Some central banks have set a time limit for the exchange of national banknotes and coins

Country Exchange of banknotes until Exchange of coins until
Belgium unlimited 31 December 2004
Germany unlimited unlimited
Estonia unlimited unlimited
Ireland unlimited unlimited
Greece 1 March 2012 1 March 2004
Spain 31 December 2020 31 December 2020
France 17 February 2012 17 February 2005
Italy 6 December 2011 6 December 2011
Cyprus 31 December 2017 31 December 2009
Latvia unlimited unlimited
Lithuania unlimited unlimited
Luxembourg unlimited 31 December 2004
Malta 31 January 2018 1 February 2010
The Netherlands (1) 1 January 2032 1 January 2007
Austria unlimited unlimited
Portugal 28 February 2022 31 December 2002
Slovenia unlimited 31 December 2016
Slovakia unlimited 2 January 2014
Finland 29 February 2012 29 February 2012

(1) De Nederlandsche Bank will not exchange guilders in every case. Guilders obtained from commercial activities after 27 January 2002 will no longer be exchanged. For more information, please see the website of De Nederlandsche Bank.

北京pk赛车10官网 七乐彩100期开奖结果 政府鼓励个体投资电影 澳洲幸运5计划软件手机版下载 夢幻邂逅 彩票深圳风采开奖 大额配资 今天3d的开奖号码 湖北十一选五 广东11选5人工8 辽宁35选7开将 大圣配资 广东11元选5开奖 幸运pk10玩法技巧 电竞比分网绝地求生 体彩云南十一选五开奖 3D试机号走势图、